All reviews

By Kim S. (BRACKNELL, United Kingdom) on 10 Sept. 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Hedgehog Eco House

All Hedghog houses

In my opinion, these are the best houses you can get, so well thought out (meaning any house from Riverside) I have 3 all full, just got 2 more. Looking at some reviews I see straw mentioned a lot, always use Hay not straw, straw can give Hedgehogs big problems. It's long and sharp and they can get bits of their body badly entwined in it as they go round and round making a nest.

By Anita W. (AMLWCH, United Kingdom) on 04 Sept. 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Triple Platform Bird Table

Superb quality, stunning looks, well designed

This bird table is outstanding. I'm a keen supporter of garden wildlife and over some 50 years, I've bought numerous tables. This is by far the best. In summary, it's made from quality materials, it's well designed, heavy weight and should last for years. It's worth every penny.

I was going to buy from Amazon, but at point of purchase, the seller price was better, so I ordered directly. Delivery was fast. A couple of issues were immediately resolved with the seller (who, to his credit, contacted me by phone to ensure happy resolution). I consider support and service exceptional.

As for the product, it looks stunning. It's an elegant addition to any garden. I have a quite a large garden area and this really makes a statement in terms of how it looks. The base is large enough to provide balance. I live in an area blessed with winds often > 90mph, I'm confident that it's really well designed to withstand significant adverse conditions. It's unlikely to blow over and the construction is such that it provides protection for the food on the table and the feeding birds. I really like the gaps at the corners; means it's easy to clean with hose or power hose. When it rains, if water collects, any excess may be drained very easily simply by tilting the table. The different levels allow tits, starlings, chaffinch, sparrows, robins and others to access food at the same time. Whilst the greedy tend to congregate on the large top feeding area, smaller birds can access the lower side tables too.

In terms of construction, I'd recommend a power screwdriver. My drill with Philips screwdriver bit was perfect. I laid out the parts, screws etc with the instructions and followed the printed guide. I'm an older lady with some grip difficulty, but I put it together in just under 20 minutes without assistance. So it's not complicated. Is it expensive? No, not in my opinion. The timber is good quality ( borne out by initially trying to assemble with a hand screw driver. It was tough!). I found all the angled support struts and holes spot on. They aligned as intended and as long as a tight hold was kept whilst assembling, they're all secure and strong. This table may cost a little more than some, but it's well designed, with quality wood and I'm confident it'll last many years. Plus, it looks really good and the birds over it. Can't ask for more and I'll be recommending this happily as a long term purchase, good for years. I love this.

By Ann N. (NEWARK, United Kingdom) on 28 July 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Hedgehog House Riverside Gold

Fantastic

This box is excellent and the best on the market. Worth the extra investment. I have three little hedgehogs feeding on the garden so - purchased this hoping for a resident. I filled it with hay - sited it in a quiet place near the pond - put a few meal worms in the tunnel and a bowl of food inside and sure enough after a week - one little hog fast asleep tucked up inside the house. I don`t feed inside the house now but leave a bowl of food a distance away so as not to attract unwelcome visitors. I have just ordered a feeding station and another of the the smaller houses so as to create the hedgehogs own sanctuary. I am thrilled to be helping these lovely little creatures and hopefully make a very small difference to their sad decline.

By Joanna L. (NEWENT, United Kingdom) on 14 July 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Premier Garden Bird Table

Brilliant!

Great bird table! Very sturdy and attractive. We asked for an Eco floor to be put in it instead of a wood floor and no problem. Alison and Ricky are so helpful and willing to give their time and advise if necessary. We have a lot of grey squirrels here and we've added an RSPB baffle which fits this post if the aperture of the baffle is made larger with a fine hacksaw. Thank you for a brilliant addition to our garden!

By Joanna L. (NEWENT, United Kingdom) on 14 July 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Bird Feeding Station XL

Brilliant!

Birds love it, I love it! Squirrels don't love it because they can't get to the feeders! Very sturdy and well crafted. The only thing I would mention is that I find the wooden side feeder trays get full of bird pooh so difficult to use them as feeders. Ricky & Alison are very helpful and are so willing to advise and give their time to answer questions.

By Caroline N. (STOCKPORT, United Kingdom) on 11 July 2017 :
(4/5) 

Product rated : Hedgehog Eco House

Well made - entrance hole too big

This house is almost perfect, but for one thing. A pretty important thing:

I've seen two cats go into the house, on separate occasions. They both came out head first so are able to get fully inside and turn around.
Luckily I had the house on the lawn to get the hogs used to it before hiding it in the vegetation for proper use, so it wasnt occupied.

I'll make the hole smaller so it can be used safely, but its something to be aware of.

Hi please note the hole size is set by British Hedgehog Society however we can make it a bit smaller if you ask us to or supply a reduced cat resistant tunnel

By Andy S. (NORMANTON, United Kingdom) on 15 May 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Hedgehog Eco Feeding Station

A Top Quality Feeding Station

I have to say that the build quality of this Feeding Station is excellent, and unlike others on the market, the quality of the materials used is very good indeed, it certainly is very robust and will last for many years to come.

The design is very well thought out, but for my needs the entrance / baffle holes needed to be bigger ( I have a very large Hoggie visiting ) so after a quick call the guys were more than happy to increase the hole size from 120mm to 140mm which looks just about right.

If you are in the market for a Hedgehog Feeding Station then this is the one.

Both customer service and build quality are second to none, and I will be buying a Hedgehog Home from the guys in a few weeks time, then hopefully I might persuade a Hoggie to hibernate in the garden, giving it a safe place to spend the winter.

Thanks guys...

By Alison P. (BUNTINGFORD, United Kingdom) on 14 May 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Hanging Cage Bird Feeder

Excellent value

I am so pleased with this feeder. Seems really made well and sturdy. Put some mealworms in it and the Great Tits have already got used to it and are going backwards and forwards to the nest to feed their young. The feeder has only been up an hour so the birds are obviously comfortable with the design. This is so much better than the metal cage-type feeder I purchased and this is also better value.

By David B. (BINGLEY, United Kingdom) on 25 Apr. 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Wishing Well Large

Mr David Butler

Well pleased with the final result however I feel you could improve on the assembly instructions.
If you identified the top, so called 45 degree piece, with a small sticker, everything would fall into place more quickly.
I had to enlarge the side support holes and 4x facia pieces as the winch bar was too thick!!
Instead of attaching these four pieces to the winch bar with screws I have attached them to the side pieces using a screw top and bottom. Much more secure and less risk of splitting the bar with screws.

Hope these comments are helpful and overall I am delighted with the finished Wishing Well. Very sylish solid and superior to anything on the market at this price level

By Helen P. (LEIGH-ON-SEA, United Kingdom) on 02 March 2017 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Bird Feeding Station XL

Well made bird feeding station

Really pleased with this quality bird feeding station. My husband found the instructions easy to follow and put together. In his words it is 'well made'. We have stood this on paving stones which we already had in the garden and on such a windy day as today is, it is standing perfectly. The hooks and clips supplied with it are a really good idea.
I would highly recommend this as I have always bought the cheap metal stands before and they just don't last and look as good as wood.

By Jeff S. (LUTON, United Kingdom) on 15 Feb. 2017 :
(/5) 

Product rated : Hedgehog House Riverside Gold

Excellent

Excellent quality, well designed, built and finished.

By Sonia W. (GLOUCESTER, United Kingdom) on 31 Jan. 2017 :
(/5) 

Product rated : Open Eco Bird Table Large

Sturdy!

This bird table is extremely well made and very sturdy. Love it!

By Caroline D. (PETWORTH, United Kingdom) on 25 Nov. 2016 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Rescue Hedgehog House

Perfect Hedgehog House

I came across a review of this particular house that was written by a hedgehog rescuer, who's advice was to buy from Riverside Woodcraft rather than a competitor. The advice was good.

I have several hedgehogs in my untidy wildlife friendly garden, and had spotted one that was not up to full hibernation weight. I did not know where he was sleeping, only that he was appearing on a regular basis for food. Once the house was in position, the underweight hedgehog moved in on the second night and is now as very warm under a huge pile of grass and leaves (I put supplies outside the house and he came out every night for a week and took the bedding into the house).

The house looks great, but more importantly is solidly made with the needs of the hedgehog taken into consideration. I was so pleased with the product I have ordered a second one and placed it at the opposite end of the garden. This second house has not been occupied, and so will be ready to take any hedgehog that needs rescuing during the winter months.

By Nevzat A. (CRAWLEY, United Kingdom) on 22 Nov. 2016 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Open Bird Table

Open bird table

Absolutely thrilled with this product. Sturdy, Very Well Made, and looks so good.

By Beverly H. (SWANSEA, United Kingdom) on 17 Oct. 2016 :
(5/5) 

Product rated : Hedgehog Eco Feeding Station

Excellent idea & very well made.

I'm very impressed by the thought that's gone into this & the quality, really very well made.
Very easy to use & a really safe place for my hedgehogs to feed away from predators & out of the worst of the weather too.
Hedgehogs have been few & far between here for some time but seem to have made a bit of a come back this year so I was really pleased to find this feeding station, along with my hedgehog houses they should have everything they need now .
Just wish I had found this company sooner & will definitely be buying more products here in future.

Image result for special offer logo

15% off all bird tables until 4th September

Follow us on Facebook

Article Categories

Latest Articles

-->